The Haunting Duality that bound Lady Macbeth to Vanessa Ives

lady-macbeth
* Script has been reused and reinterpreted  from Shakespeare’s MAcbeth (Lady Macbeth ) and Juan Antonio Bayona and John Logan’s Penny Dreadful ( Vanessa Ives)
Two Daggers . Two Souls

Scene 1

Vanessa Ives stands against the wall, her body is still as if dead like. She makes a growling demonic sound and in a high pitched voice she speaks

Vanessa Ives: Hell is murky. You think you know a greater demon? Tell me of him. Or shall I tell you?

She bangs her body against the wall and reluctantly prays

(Terrified, horror-filled scream)

(Fervently praying in Latin)

Vanessa: Deus meus, ex toto corde penitent me ómnium meórum peccatórum, éaque detéstor, quia peccándo, non solum penal a te iuste statútas proméritus sum, sed præsértim quia offéndi te

Credo in unum Deum, Patrem omnipotentem

Credo in unum Deum, Patrem omnipotentem

Credo in unum Deum, Patrem omnipotentem

Vanessa Whimpers 

DON’T DO THIS TO ME . CRUEL …IT’S CRUEL…TOO CRUEL…JUST CRUEL…Cruel … AHHHHHHHHHHH

I apologise but I’m not quite my self, I’m sick, you see. I… have a complicated history with the almighty. I have run from the darkness for so long only to find myself in a darker place still. I tried to pray that night and god didn’t answer me, but another did. I love god but I love the devil to and thus it is something else entirely that conquers my soul.

An unforgivable transgression that has marked me for life. You think you’ve suffered. You think you know blood. You think you’ve walked on corpses. Spread them from here to the horizon and I have walked further. Do you think the dark forces that converge on our heads can be vanquished so easily? Do you honestly believe you can escape? DO YOU , DO YOU? AHHHHH

Her body possessed bangs against the wall once more and her body meekly falls toward.

Perhaps it has always been here this thing, this demon clawing inside me. Or  behind my back, waiting for me to turn around…

AHHHHH. No! No! No! No! No-

-AHHHH.

Lady Macbeth: Oh goddess Hecate, I worship thee. I shall not scare to weakness.Vanessa shall not scare to weakness. Oh goddess Hecate, endorse  me in your spirits for which that hath made them drunk hath made me bold: What hath quench’d them hath given me fire. That death and nature do content about them whether they live or die.

Lady Macbeth Laughs 

Lady Macbeth: This have I thought good to deliver thee, my dearest partner of greatness Vanessa Ives. That I may pour my spirits in thine ear.And chastise with valour of my tongue. All that impedes thee from the golden round. Which fate and metaphysical aid doth seem, to have thee crowned withal. Do it for me. Do it Vanessa. Yet I do , ha, fear thy nature! (sternly) It is too full o’th’milk of human kindness . Come Vanessa , you mortal, unsex thy self,you’be done it before and fill thou from the crown to the toe top full. Make thick your blood, as is mine, Lady Macbeth. Stop the passage to remorse.

(Gasps) (growls)( choking gasps) (grunting) (struggling grunts) (gasping) (sighs, Breathing hard) (moans) (speaking Latin In a low voice)

Lady Macbeth Laughs 

Oh come, now Vanessa what a  what a ripping time We’ll have.

Let me talk with you.

My lady loves you , oh god the whole world loves you, loves you enough to save you but you see I love you in a different way I love you enough to kill you . That my keen knife see not the wound it has made within you Vanessa, Nor are you able to peep through the blanket of darkness , not even to cry

(plunges knife into her side or maybe neck) 

Lady Macbeth vanishes and vanessa returns as she sobs and groans in bloody pain 

Vanessa: Ohhh, i can’t go on my lady i’m sick , you’ve made me sick, im so weak .

yet here’s a spot . Out damned spot , out I say.

(tries to rub the blood of her hands)

i’m bleeding at your hands.

Oh god, i’m bleeding.

I’m shitting blood now.

I’m sorry.

Leave me, LEAVE ME NOW!

(roars) Go! (gasps)

I’ll see you soon, my lady.

my lady.

you knew i was going to die didn’t you (shaky breath) 

Goodbye…

(demonic voice)

No!

Lady Macbeth : Shhh (sensual moan) Vanessa you can’t leave Lady Macbeth that easily , (Lady Macbeth laughs). I know you, these foolish thoughs make you a sorry sight, the deed which has occured ..hmmm ( growls) I wonder, I wonder when was The moment you knew You wanted to fuck him?Why were you not more discrete? I heard you.

The two of you.

I heard you fucking And I was curious.

I walked closer, I rounded the corner And discovered you, The two of you, You know, fucking.

my husband macbeth , hmm, Fucking your cunt.

(seething inhale) I saw that.

(chair crashes) Fucking animal!

That man.

You animal.

(candles clatter) That man.

You animal.

Betrayer! Creature! I look into his eyes and they are red with blood like from Vanessa’s ass.

His lips are red like blood from he bit your cunt when he fucked you.

His teeth are sharp like yours from when he bit your cunt and it’s so cold and dark and wet like the jungle.

Like tears,

i am crying.

I am so afraid,

Find me! Find me! Save me! Save me! (chanting in lingala, Bones crack

Deus meus, ex toto corde pænitet me ómnium meórum peccatórum, éaque detéstor, quia peccándo, non solum pœnas a te iuste statútas proméritus sum, sed præsértim quia offéndi te

Credo in unum Deum, Patrem omnipotentem

Credo in unum Deum, Patrem omnipotentem

Credo in unum Deum, Patrem omnipotentem

Was the middle of the night in my house, the middle of the night in my house, and I’m not gonna shut up , I’m gonna tell everyone , I’m gonna tell everyone. I’m gonna tell everyone ( Lady mMacbeth laughs) shhhh…

silence

VANESSAAAA! ( Lady Macbeth  hisses)

Bangs her self on the wall , and slides down as both Vanessa’s body and Lady Macbeth’s spirit dies 

